Cupcake Anyone?

I have had quite a few things to do this week including going on my son’s school trip to Space Expo in Noordwijk. He is obsessed about space so he could barely contain himself and wants to go back this weekend with Daddy. unfortunately he will have to wait because we are going to the UK for the weekend. I have nearly got everything made to take back I just have to make an oven mitt , I found the tutorial on skip to my lou, which I will tackle this morning.

I finally had an afternoon of baking and whipped up some lemon cupcakes, chocolate chip cupcakes and some currant and sultana cupcakes. I only took a picture of the lemon ones as the light was so bad that afternoon due to heavy rain.

 

The recipe is very simple and it is my mum’s fail safe 6,6,6,3 combo, so it is in imperial not metric and it always means getting out my old scales!

Lemon Cupcake Recipe

6 oz butter softened

6 oz caster sugar

6 oz SR Flour

3 large eggs

grated zest of 1 lemon and juice from half a lemon

For the Icing

225g Icing sugar

100g butter softened

juice of half a lemon

(I use my kitchen aid mixer for all of this) Cream the butter and sugar until soft and light, add the eggs one at a time creaming each one in. Add the flour, zest and juice and mix until incorporated. Spoon into lined muffin tray and bake at 180 degrees for 20 mins. Allow to cool

To make icing, cream all the icing ingredients in a mixer for about 5 mins until light and fluffy. Spoon into an icing bag and pipe onto cooled  muffins. 

This recipe made 12 standard size and 8 mini sized cupcakes.

Enjoy with a cup of tea. Yum.

7 thoughts on “Cupcake Anyone?

  1. Ah, ha. Finally the secret to a great spread inside a cupcake like this-an icing bag.

    I’ll have to pick one up because this cupcake is beautiful and the icing is perfect!

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Cupcakes Easy Peasy « Bake and Sew

  3. Pingback: Funky cupcakes! « Bake and Sew

Leave a Reply

