Shirt patchwork

My son has grown so tall over the past year, shirts that fitted him last summer are now showing far too much tummy! I went shopping before the holiday and bought a stack of new t shirts and he can now be happy he isn’t wearing a cropped top.

But what to do with the cotton shirts? I used to give all clothing to charity or hand it on to friends, but now I’m officially a sewer I don’t like to throw things made of 100% cotton away. 

So the patchwork shirt lap quilt was born. I used my son’s shirts and a couple of my husbands that had worn out at the cuffs and collar. (Although he did ask why one of the short sleeved shirts was in the quilt because he thought it was still hanging in the wardrobe – oops! Not too sure myself how it got in the sewing room in the pile to cut)

shirt patchwork top

It is currently 36” square and I am going to add a 5″ border in white. I think it should make a nice size lap quilt for my son then. It was a little tricky to sew because some of the shirts are loosely woven, but i did my best to make it square and I thought it wouldn’t really show when it is all quilted and wrinkly.

Now off to do the border.

Until next time……

One thought on “Shirt patchwork

Leave a Reply

